How to enter

Kingston University 3962 Dennis Gilbert WEBIMAGE 6
2022 RIBA Awards

Why enter the RIBA Awards?

For over 50 years the RIBA awards and prizes have championed and celebrated the best architecture in the UK and around the world, no matter the form; size or budget. Successful projects reflect changes and innovations in architecture, but at their core display a commitment to designing and developing buildings and spaces for the improvement and enhancement of people’s lives.

Following a rigorous judging process, projects entered into the RIBA awards will be eligible to qualify for the following awards:

  • RIBA Regional Award
  • RIBA National Award
  • RIBA House of the Year
  • RIBA Stirling Prize
Windermere Jetty Mus 3988 Hufton Crow ORIGINAL 10
Benefits of entering

The RIBA Awards

  • RIBA awards are regarded by both the public and profession as the most valued architecture awards with an unrivalled approach to the judging and promotion of good architecture.
  • RIBA awards and prizes are the most rigorously judged awards for architectural excellence and are based on the judgement of peers as a result of building visits.
  • All award-winning projects will have been visited by at least one expert jury, judged by award-winning architects and relevant lay assessors.
  • Award winners will have PR support from RIBA and the chance to be featured in online, print and filmed content by our prestigious media partners. Please note, there are filming requirements for any projects that make the House of the Year Long list.
  • Award-winning projects are featured on which has a growing annual visit rate of over 2.5 million globally.
  • RIBA awards are highlighted and amplified on all of our social media channels with a global reach of over 300,000 followers.
  • Award winners will receive both hard-copy and digital RIBA Awards marketing assets.
Murrays Mills 4000 Daniel Hopkinson ORIGINAL 4
UK Awards - from November 2021

Who can enter?

To create an account for the RIBA Awards for projects in the UK you must have a current individual RIBA Chartered Membership number or RIBA International Fellowship. The lead architect of the scheme must be a current RIBA Chartered Member. Learn how to join the RIBA here. Please note you must have applied for membership before 14 November 2021 to be eligible for this year's awards.

To enter a building in the UK (excluding Scotland - see below) for the RIBA Awards the project director must:

  • be a current RIBA, RSAW, RIAS, RSUA Chartered member or RIBA International Fellow
  • have completed the building, which must have been occupied (partially-occupied commercial and housing projects subject to RIBA approval) between October 2018 and December 2020
  • have the client's permission to submit the building
Thorney Barn 4421 Andrew Wall ORIGINAL 5
Buildings in Scotland

Who can enter?

To enter projects in Scotland (including re-submissions for RIBA National Awards) please see the RIAS Awards. Entrants whose scheme failed to win an RIAS Award in 2021 are able to re-submit it for re-consideration in 2022 for an RIBA National Award (not an RIAS Award) provided that:

  • the scheme still falls within the two year eligibility period - it was completed and occupied between October 2018 and December 2020
  • the full entry fee for RIAS Awards is paid

The scheme will judged by different judges and will include a RIBA Representative and one RIAS judge.

RIBA, RSAW, RIAS, RSUA members and RIBA International Fellows can enter projects into both the UK and International Awards. If you are thinking about entering buildings in the UK, but are not a member then please see more information on becoming a member.

Costa Street 4 3
UK Awards 2022

How to enter

To enter you must create a user account and submit your project to the RIBA Awards online portal.

Please note: Your RIBA Awards account username and password are not the same as your RIBA Membership details.

To create your awards account you will need the following:

  • An email address. This contact should be the individual co-ordinating your awards entries.
  • An individual Chartered RIBA, RSAW, RIAS, RSUA or RIBA International Fellowship member number. The membership number should be up to 8 digits long and contain numbers only e.g. 12345678.

Once you have started your online entry you may work on your submission(s) up until 16:59 on the day of the deadline.

The Stratford Stratford London Skidmore Owings and Merrill Hufton Crow USE

What information will you need?

All of the following information will need to be provided in order to complete your awards submission:

  • Project information
  • Contact details
  • Project description
  • Images
  • Drawings
  • Photographers
  • Sustainability
Riverside House Salford 6

Entry Fees

Entry fees are eligible for each project submitted into the awards, and is dependent on the contract value of each project.

Entries completed and paid for before 23.59pm on 18 November 2021 will be eligible for the early bird discount.


Judging Criteria

Judges will be asked to assess buildings on a set criteria, projects must:

Architectural integrity

  • be capable of stimulating, engaging and delighting its occupants, visitors and passers by
  • have a robust design that has potential for flexibility in the future
  • select materials considering the environmental impact
  • have a completed sustainability statement, including a response to the target metrics set out in the RIBA 2030 Challenge

Usability and context

  • make a significant contribution to its immediate environment
  • respond to the issues of accessibility and other social factors
  • have suitable structural and servicing systems
  • contribute generously to the public realm or environment

Delivery and execution

  • show complexity of brief/degree of difficulty - its architectural ambition and ideas
  • show fitness for purpose, especially in response to the client's brief
  • show that it has not gone over it's timetable without good cause
  • show value for money - budget
Tintagel Castle Footbridge jpg6

Judging process

RIBA Awards and prizes are the most rigorously judged awards for architectural excellence. No award or prize is given unless the project has been visited by at least one jury. All RIBA awards are judged by award-winning architects and relevant lay assessors. RIBA juries assess design excellence irrespective of style, size or complexity, taking into account constraints of budget, brief and timetable while being sensitive to the economic and social contexts of each project.

Before any visits are made, every judge will read and digest the criteria and study all the submitted materials. They will then visit an agreed list of projects, looking in detail at all aspects, interior and exterior; listen to the story that both architect and client have to tell, and ask them about the process and its results.

After discussion with fellow judges, they will arrive at their provisional decisions. Once all visits have concluded, the jury will meet for a final time to decide the awards.

Cambridge Central Mosque 14