How to enter

2020 RIBA Awards

Why enter the RIBA Awards?

For over 50 years the RIBA awards and prizes have championed and celebrated the best architecture in the UK and around the world, no matter the form; size or budget. Successful projects reflect changes and innovations in architecture, but at their core display a commitment to designing and developing buildings and spaces for the improvement and enhancement of people’s lives.

Following a rigorous judging process, projects entered into the RIBA awards will be eligible to qualify for the following awards;

  • RIBA Regional Award
  • RIBA National Award
  • RIBA House of the Year
  • RIBA Stirling Prize
Goldsmith Street
Benefits of entering

The RIBA Awards

  • RIBA awards are regarded by both the public and profession as the most valued architecture awards with an unrivalled approach to the judging and promotion of good architecture.
  • RIBA awards and prizes are the most rigorously judged awards for architectural excellence and are based on the judgement of peers as a result of building visits.
  • All award-winning projects will have been visited by at least one expert jury, judged by award-winning architects and relevant lay assessors.
  • Award winners will have PR support from the RIBA and the chance to be featured in online, print and filmed content by our prestigious media partners. Please note, there are filming requirements for any projects that make the House of the Year Long list.
  • Award-winning projects are featured on which has a growing annual visit rate of over 2.5 million globally.
  • RIBA awards are highlighted and amplified on all of our social media channels with a global reach of over 300,000 followers.
  • Award winners will receive both hard-copy and digital RIBA Awards marketing assets.
Muswell House
UK Awards - from December 2019

Who can enter?

To create an account for the RIBA Awards for projects in the UK you must have a current individual RIBA Chartered Membership number or RIBA International Fellowship. The lead architect of the scheme must be a current RIBA Chartered Member. Learn how to join the RIBA here. Please note you must have applied for membership before February 2020 to be eligible for this year's awards.

To enter a building in the UK (excluding Scotland - see below) for the RIBA Awards the project director must:

  • be a current RIBA, RSAW, RIAS, RSUA Chartered member or RIBA International Fellow
  • have completed the building, which must have been occupied (partially-occupied commercial and housing projects subject to RIBA approval) between November 2017 and February 2020
  • have the client's permission to submit the building
Buildings in Scotland

Who can enter?

To enter projects in Scotland (including re-submissions for RIBA National Awards) please see the RIAS Awards. Entrants whose scheme failed to win an RIAS Award in 2019 are able to re-submit it for re-consideration in 2020 for an RIBA National Award (not an RIAS Award) provided that:

  • the scheme still falls within the two year eligibility period - it was completed and occupied between November 2017 and February 2020
  • the full entry fee for RIAS Awards is paid

The scheme will judged by different judges and will include a RIBA Representative and one RIAS judge.

RIBA, RSAW, RIAS, RSUA members and RIBA International Fellows can enter projects into both the UK and International Awards. If you are thinking about entering buildings in the UK, but are not a member then please see more information on becoming a member.

Storeys Field 2
South Gardens
UK Awards 2020

How to enter

To enter you must create a user account and submit your project to the RIBA Awards online portal.

Please note: Your RIBA Awards account username and password are not the same as your RIBA Membership details.

To create your awards account you will need the following:

  • An email address. This contact should be the individual co-ordinating your awards entries.
  • An individual Chartered RIBA, RSAW, RIAS, RSUA or RIBA International Fellowship member number. The membership number should be up to 8 digits long and contain numbers only e.g. 12345678.

Once you have started your online entry you may work on your submission(s) up until 23.59 on the day of the deadline.

Temple Gardens

What information will you need?

All of the following information will need to be provided in order to complete your awards submission:

  • Project information
  • Contact details
  • Project description
  • Images
  • Drawings
  • Photographers
  • Sustainability

Entry Fees

Entry fees are eligible for each project submitted into the awards, and is dependent on the contract value of each project.

Entries completed and paid for before 23.59pm on 6 February 2020 will be eligible for the early bird discount.


Judging Criteria

Judges will be asked to assess buildings on criteria such as:

Architectural integrity

  • capacity to stimulate, engage and delight
  • design vision - is this reflected in all aspects of the design?
  • selection of materials and rigour with which it is detailed
  • architectural and conceptual ambition

Usability and context

  • has it made a significant contribution to its immediate environment?
  • response to the issues of accessibility and other social factors
  • suitability of its structural and servicing systems
  • generous contribution to the public realm or environment

Delivery and execution

  • complexity of brief/degree of difficulty - its architectural ambition and ideas
  • fitness for purpose, especially in response to the client's brief
  • timetable - the project should not have gone over time without good cause
  • value for money - budget
Royal Albert Wharf

Judging process

RIBA Awards and prizes are the most rigorously judged awards for architectural excellence. No award or prize is given unless the project has been visited by at least one jury. All RIBA awards are judged by award-winning architects and relevant lay assessors. RIBA juries assess design excellence irrespective of style, size or complexity, taking into account constraints of budget, brief and timetable while being sensitive to the economic and social contexts of each project.

Before any visits are made, every judge will read and digest the criteria and study all the submitted materials. They will then visit an agreed list of projects, looking in detail at all aspects, interior and exterior, listen to the story that both architect and client have to tell and interrogate them about the process and its results.

After discussion with fellow judges, they will arrive at their provisional decisions. Once all visits have concluded the jury will meet for a final time to decide the awards.