BDA Launches Brickmakers Quality Charter

8th Apr 2021

BDA Launches Brickmakers Quality Charter

In March, the Brick Development Association (BDA) launched the brand new Brickmakers Quality Charter. This certification will provide the whole UK construction supply chain with full assurance of the high standards of the brick manufacturers, with regards to their clay bricks, manufacturing process and ethical practices.

The Brick Development Association is the national authority on clay bricks and pavers. Their role is to collect and communicate the interests of their members and ensure that their products remain the UK’s material of choice in the construction industry. The introduction of the Brickmakers Quality Charter will give further confidence to the construction industry that the bricks they are using are of the highest quality.

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of bricks imported from outside of the EU. Therefore, the Charter has been introduced to ensure that companies wishing to have the BQC logo on their branding and products, have met a basic set of criteria. Application to the scheme is not mandatory, however, any brickmaker wanting to demonstrate that they operate with high standards of ethics and production practices, is encouraged to apply to receive recognition for being a reputable manufacturer.

Clay brick manufacturers who wish to register with the BQC are required to demonstrate compliance and adherence to eight internationally recognised Critical Assessment Points. They must provide evidence of their credentials in at least four of these CAPs, with CAP number seven and eight being mandatory. Those who then receive the certification are awarded with either a one, two, or three-star rating, depending on how many of the CAPs they meet. These CAPs are:

  1. Business Quality Management System (ISO 9001)
  2. Responsible Sourcing System (BES 6001)
  3. Energy Management System (ISO 50001)
  4. Environmental Management System (ISO 14001)
  5. Health and Safety Management System (ISO 45001, OHSAS 18001 or the BCC H&S Pledge)
  6. Employment Practice System
  7. Anti-Modern Slavery Policy and Procedures
  8. CPR Compliance in all Clay-brick products (CE Mark or UKCA/UKNI Mark to EN771-1)

This new certification is a welcomed change in the construction industry and will no doubt encourage manufacturers to meet these CAPs, therefore reducing the number of unreliably sourced bricks on the market.

If you are a clay brick, paver or tile manufacturer who wishes to apply, please visit for more information.

Brick manufacturing

Share this news article:

Recent news

Taylor Maxwell 29th Mar 2022

Timber Update March 2022

The Timber Trade Federation (TTF) have advised its members to cease trading with Russia and Belarus due to the ongoing conflict in Ukraine. This will continue to have a major ...

Taylor Maxwell 24th Jan 2022

Timber Update January 2022

Global and EU-UK customs regulations saw various changes on 1st January 2022. The new requirements cover six areas, including new customs codes with Chapter 44 for wood produc...

Taylor Maxwell 1st Dec 2021

Our Year in Review 2021

Following on from a challenging year in 2020, we have been pleased to see the construction industry bounce back, with activity returning close to pre-pandemic levels. Througho...