BDA Launches Brickmakers Quality Charter

8th April 2021

Brickmakers Quality Charter

In March, the Brick Development Association (BDA) launched the brand new Brickmakers Quality Charter. This certification will provide the whole UK construction supply chain with full assurance of the high standards of the brick manufacturers, with regards to their clay bricks, manufacturing process and ethical practices.

The Brick Development Association is the national authority on clay bricks and pavers. Their role is to collect and communicate the interests of their members and ensure that their products remain the UK’s material of choice in the construction industry. The introduction of the Brickmakers Quality Charter will give further confidence to the construction industry that the bricks they are using are of the highest quality.

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of bricks imported from outside of the EU. Therefore, the Charter has been introduced to ensure that companies wishing to have the BQC logo on their branding and products, have met a basic set of criteria. Application to the scheme is not mandatory, however, any brickmaker wanting to demonstrate that they operate with high standards of ethics and production practices, is encouraged to apply to receive recognition for being a reputable manufacturer.

Clay brick manufacturers who wish to register with the BQC are required to demonstrate compliance and adherence to eight internationally recognised Critical Assessment Points. They must provide evidence of their credentials in at least four of these CAPs, with CAP number seven and eight being mandatory. Those who then receive the certification are awarded with either a one, two, or three-star rating, depending on how many of the CAPs they meet. These CAPs are:

  1. Business Quality Management System (ISO 9001)
  2. Responsible Sourcing System (BES 6001)
  3. Energy Management System (ISO 50001)
  4. Environmental Management System (ISO 14001)
  5. Health and Safety Management System (ISO 45001, OHSAS 18001 or the BCC H&S Pledge)
  6. Employment Practice System
  7. Anti-Modern Slavery Policy and Procedures
  8. CPR Compliance in all Clay-brick products (CE Mark or UKCA/UKNI Mark to EN771-1)

This new certification is a welcomed change in the construction industry and will no doubt encourage manufacturers to meet these CAPs, therefore reducing the number of unreliably sourced bricks on the market.

If you are a clay brick, paver or tile manufacturer who wishes to apply, please visit for more information.

Brick manufacturing

Get more from Taylor Maxwell

Join our mailing list to get all the latest industry news.